Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
2

Anonymous for the Voiceless in Auckland CBD

A surprise encounter with Nicomachean Ethics in street activism
2

I paused for a moment to film Anonymous for the Voiceless -an international movement of vegans whose street activism entails the display of disturbing animal exploitation videos.

They also engage with the public, as the young photographer who approached me did. We spoke for five or ten minutes and she really impressed me.

I was expecting the lunacy of the climate change zealots or the far-left Green party misanthropes. Surprisingly what I got instead was Aristotelian ethics: the pragmatic advantages of striving for virtue, extending from the observation that animals are sentient beings.

Using hypotheticals and edge cases I probed her argument gently because I like to be polite and wanted to avoid coming across as argumentative. I found no fault. With her logic or her reason.

-SRA. Auckland. 19/x 2024.

Discussion about this podcast

Simon Anderson
Simon’s Substack Podcast
The Bemused Ramblings of the Dickhead with a Camera